KCR wins at Gajwel KCR all set to be CM of Telangana

KCR all set to be CM of Telangana

KCR wins at Gajwel

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi is poised to form the Government in Telangana by registering an emphatic victory in the Assembly polls. The party has clinched 50 seats so far, while leading in 13 more seats.

K Chandrasekhara Rao, the TRS President, is likely to become the first Chief Minister of the newly-formed State, 29th in the country.

The State has got a share of 119 seats (the combined State has 294 seats), requiring a party to get 60 seats to get a simple majority in order to form the Government.

The Congress has failed to cash in on the 'credit' for facilitating the formation of the State. It has won in 10 seats so far and can hope for 10 seats, where it is leading. Senior leaders, including Pradesh Congress Committee President Ponnala Lakshmaiah and several Ministers in the last assembly, lost in the election.

The Telugu Desam Party-BJP alliance has won six seats. They are leading in 16 more seats.
 Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (born 17 February 1954), abbreviated KCR, is the 1st chief Minister2014- of Telengana. He is a Member of Legislative Assembly from the Medak constituency of Telangana and is the president of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi.[1] He was the cabinet minister for Labour and Employment.

Rao was born on 17 February 1954 in Chintamadaka village, Medak District of Andhra Pradesh. He attained a Masters in Telugu Literature.

Congress Party

KCR started his career with the youth Congress party in Medak district, controlled by Sanjay Gandhi in the 1970s. As he himself claims, he and a few others stood by Indira Gandhi even after her defeat in the 1977 Lok Sabha polls.

Telugu Desam Party

KCR joined the TDP in 1983 and contested against A.Madan Mohan and lost that election. Kcr won four consecutive Assembly elections from Siddipet between 1985 and 1999. He also served as the deputy speaker of the Andhra Assembly. Elected as MLA from Gajwel Constituency of Medak Dist of Telangana State on 16-5-2014 with a majority of 19391.And he may be the Chief Ministerial Candidate for recently formed Telangana State in India.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi

Further information: Separate Telangana state movement

On 27 April 2001, Rao resigned as Deputy Speaker and TDP MLA. He claimed that the politicians of the region were being suppressed and believed that separatism is the only solution. In April 2001, he formed the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to campaign for his separatist agenda.

In the elections of 2004, Rao won the Siddipet state assembly constituency and also the Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency, both as a TRS candidate.The TRS fought the 2004 general elections in alliance with the Indian National Congress and Rao was one of the five TRS candidates who were returned as MPs.

TRS was part of the United Progressive Alliance coalition government, led by Congress. The party later withdrew from the coalition, saying that the Alliance was not minded to support a separate Telangana state. In 2004, he fought the Lok Sabha polls and went on to become a Union Cabinet minister of Labour and Employment in the UPA-1 government at the Centre. He resigned in 2006. In 2009, Rao fought and won the Mahbubnagar Lok Sabha by election for the TRS,the party fought the general elections as part of the opposition coalition.

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekhar Rao is married to Shobha and has two children. His son, K. T. Rama Rao, is a legislator; his daughter, Kalvakuntla Kavitha, is an activist. His nephew, Harish Rao, is Member of the Legislative Assembly for the Siddipet constituency.
www.cinterviews.com appreciates your contribution please mail us the questions you have to cinterviews.blogspot.com@gmail.com so that it will be useful to our job search community

No comments: