Narendra Modi led to form government Election results 2014 live

Election results 2014 live: Narendra Modi-led to form government

Narendra Modi was on course to wrest the top job in the country on Friday as a saffron wave swept large swathes of India, lifting the Bharatiya Janata Party to its highest-ever tally and leaving Congress in tatters. Modi has won the Vadodara seat by a margin of 4 lakh votes.
BS Yeddyurappa has won his maiden LS contest with a margin of over 1 lakh votes.

Underlining the humiliation of India's oldest party, vice-president Rahul Gandhi was struggling against the BJP's Smriti Irani in the Gandhi family bastion of Amethi, where anything less than a big win would be a disaster.

Narendra Modi-led to form government

Modi led the BJP back to power after a decade in Opposition, taking advantage of public anger at Congress for uncontrolled high prices, corruption scams and rising unemployment.

The triumph capped an amazing run for the 63-year-old chief minister of Gujarat, who ran a high-voltage campaign that rewrote the political rulebook and caught his rivals napping.

And the Congress' incumbency problems were compounded by the listless campaign run by Rahul, who failed to grab the public imagination.

Election results 2014

"This is not just a victory, it is a big responsibility for us to live up to the expectations of the people," said BJP spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain.

At 10:30am, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance led in 315 seats, comfortably hurdling the 272 halfway mark needed to grab power. The Congress-led United Progressive Alliance was limping in at 70, heading for its worst-ever tally.

 The BJP was seen sweeping the electorally key state of Uttar Pradesh, where its campaign was orchestrated by Modi's right hand man Amit Shah. Mulayam Singh's Samajwadi Party, which runs the state government, was winning just a handful of seats.

In Bihar, the party led in 28 out of 40 seats, and in the nation's capital, the BJP was leading in all seven.

Modi will travel to Varanasi, a seat from where he was leading his rivals, after attending the meeting of the party's highest decision-making body and will hold a thanksgiving for the people of the holy town. He is due in Delhi on May 17.

Many prominent Congressmen trailed rivals, including Kapil Sibal, Shashi Tharoor and Ghulam Nabi Azad.

Narendra Nodi

Big winners included J Jayalalithaa's AIADMK, which led in 34 seats in Tamil Nadu, and Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress, which was leading in 29 in West Bengal.

The Aam Aadmi Party, which stunned observers by winning the Delhi assembly last year, made an encouraging Lok Sabha debut, leading in a handful of seats in Punjab.

End of counting at 5pm will bring the curtains down on the poll process that began on March 5, with the announcement of the poll schedule. A record 66.4% people turned out to cast their ballot in nine phases of the world’s biggest vote held between April 7 and May 12.

Workers at the flower-festooned New Delhi headquarters of the BJP had started chanting tributes as early as Thursday.

BJP workers said they brought in two car-loads of fireworks, while confectioner Hari Gyan Singh told AFP he had prepared around 2.5 tonne 'laddoos'.

A total of 8,251 candidates, including 668 women and five transgenders, contested the Lok Sabha battle. The contestants included 3,234 independents.

Elections 2014
Counting centres – mostly in close proximity to EVM store rooms – are being manned by the central paramilitary forces, home ministry officials said.

It will be a long day for the counting personnel, beginning around 4am. In a couple of hours, they were allocated counting tables in different halls through a draw of lots. By eight in the morning, counting started with postal ballots. EC officials expect the fate of about 8,251 candidates to be decided in the next 8-12 hours.

Other early trends came in from Ghaziabad (Uttar Pradesh) where former army chief and BJP candidate VK Singh led against actor Raj Babbar of the Congress and Aam Aadmi Party’s Shazia Ilmi.

In Chhattisgarh, chief minister Raman Singh’s son Abhishek Singh led in Rajnandgaon.

Overall early leads were 23 for BJP, 11 for Congress and 9 for others.

Counting of more than 550 million votes began at 8am amid frenzied buzz across the country around projected prime ministerial frontrunner Narendra Modi’s fortunes.

As the election commission set off on the biggest number crunching exercise in democratic history, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) PM nominee and Gujarat chief minister monitored proceedings from his residence in ministerial enclave, Gandhinagar.

Pollsters predict the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will return to power with a thumping victory and oust the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA), which enjoyed two successive terms. End of counting at 5 pm will bring the curtains down on the poll process that began on March 5, with the announcement of the poll schedule. A record 66.4% people turned out to cast their ballot in nine phases of the world’s biggest vote held between April 7 and May 12.

ALL INDIA Result Status
Status Known For 518 out of 543 Constituencies
Party WonLeadingTotal
Bahujan Samaj Party011
Bharatiya Janata Party0266266
Communist Party of India022
Communist Party of India (Marxist)077
Indian National Congress05050
Nationalist Congress Party044
Aam Aadmi Party044
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam03232
All India Trinamool Congress03333
All India United Democratic Front033
Biju Janata Dal01616
Haryana Janhit Congress (BL)011
Indian National Lok Dal011
Indian Union Muslim League022
Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party033
Janata Dal (Secular)022
Janata Dal (United)022
Kerala Congress (M)011
Lok Jan Shakti Party044
Naga Peoples Front022
National Peoples Party011
Pattali Makkal Katchi011
Rashtriya Janata Dal044
Revolutionary Socialist Party011
Samajwadi Party088
Shiromani Akali Dal044
Sikkim Democratic Front011
Telangana Rashtra Samithi01111
Telugu Desam01515
Apna Dal022
Rashtriya Lok Samta Party033
Rashtriya Samaj Paksha011
Swabhimani Paksha022
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party077
Total0518518 appreciates your contribution please mail us the questions you have to so that it will be useful to our job search community

No comments: